"Some things are more precious because they don't last long" - Oscar Wilde

The Night of Blood: Anecdote

Clouds of black roaming around as spectators to this gruesome event.

Blood- drop by drop- gently flowing down a face of horror. A face known to me  lay still and for a moment I wish that I hadn’t known. His eyes were slowly disappearing, out of sight, and I hoped for him to leave them open. The loud drone of an ambulance with men in white carrying him onto a stretcher, which seemed to me like his grave. The culprit for this bloodshed hidden away in the back out of embarrassment and guilt for what he had done.

 

Winter had arrived quicker than expected, and the coldness could be felt and seen in our everyday lives. Summer was gone and so was my enthusiasm. Dark clouds plagued the sky and a middle aged man appear with his head cocked back and his chest outwards. His confidence annoyed me and so did his violent personality. I had fought his son a couple of weeks back and his face was redder than a tomato. He kept swinging at my face, even after he scored a point, while his dad cheered him on from the bleachers. I wouldn’t say that I was afraid, but I did hope that he be punished for his uncontrollable violence.

Snow hitched a ride in my shoes on my way to the entrance of the newly built community center. The usual smell of a new home but with a tinge of something strange, which made me a little nauseous.

My sensei shouted to get us to pay attention, “Line up class!”

We stood in an almost perfect line. Expressions of achievement radiated from our faces, but we knew that nothing had truly been accomplished.

Doing formal exercises, workouts, and weapons was a summary of our class. Nothing really exciting except for the fact that we all aged a day older. Our sensei’s could see our boredom and tried to keep us focused, until they had enough.

Soke Bray, our head instructor, bellowed from behind us, “Get your sparring equipment on and choose your partners!” Then I felt immediate fear knowing that I was one of the smallest in our class. It had been a while since we actually sparred with one another and that could be seen from the confused expressions on our faces. The class rushed to get their personal belongings with me following in suit.

“Hey Cage! Bring it on little man.” He gave a slight shove, almost knocking him over.

“What’s your problem Vincent!”

“My problem is that such a cute little boy like you is fighting with me!” They were giving off threats and death stares to scare those who dared challenge them.

I wore my protective gear which felt like a plate of steel armor riveted to my chest.

I could see clouds, from the window, outside tumbling around crazily;meanwhile, an incessant downpour of white snow.

As usual, I chose the smallest guy I could find so that I wouldn’t feel the grief of losing. Unfortunately, my instructor separated me and paired me up with a man in his mid 20’s. I looked at him and instantly regretted coming to class. There was some hope, on my part, that he would go easy on me. The sparring began, and we threw punches at each other. He swung, but missed. I took the chance and gave him a kick to his side. I felt so proud of myself, and I looked around to see if anyone else had noticed.

Next to me another-more drastic- battle had been taking place. Two middle aged men, with sweat pouring down their wrinkly faces, desperately flailed their arms at one another. My fear of getting hurt  made me try to focus on my own match.

“Hiyaah!!” From the corner of my eye, I noticed the same cocky man, who I saw at the entrance, thrust his heel into the jaw of the other. The heel drove into him like a vehicle smashing into a brick wall. Blood trickled down his face and he lay there, unconscious. I wouldn’t look; I couldn’t look.

 

His face still appears in my thoughts even when I don’t think about him. What comes along with these images is the smell of a rotting corpse. Months later he  recovers and behaves normally with the man who caused him such pain. How has he forgiven this cruel man? I now realize how forgiveness is a priceless gift.

I know that I won’t ever be the same.

Citations:

Featured Image: http://dollysgothworld.tumblr.com/post/107943289286

Permanent Footprints in the sand: http://www.myangelcardreadings.com/footprints.html

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
« »