One day, it will happen,

And the wind

Will stay, the clouds will remain

But that laugh won’t be

 

You will leave

As naturally as you came

My pride and my heart, battling

For a spot on the throne

 

You will leave

So let me bottle that pain and use it

To mutilate myself in ways 

I thought I never could

 

You will leave

So let me not keep fantasizing

Let my dreams collapse upon themselves

Like mountain peaks caving inwards with arms outstretched

 

Wishing I could bottle you up, along with this moment

Two parallel pieces of broken glass fitting imperfectly,

A smile that makes me unsteady.

Hearing your light laugh from behind those abandoned trees

Those roots emerging from the ground, intertwined and sure.

 

Now up under those lights, that smile is gone, 

the lilacs and wisteria still laced with your hair.

Even shattered glass has its origin

Look from my eyes and see how I see it

But in the end, what’s the use.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reference FI: https://pixabay.com/photos/wisteria-flower-blossom-bloom-5038666/

Print Friendly, PDF & Email